History Repeats Itself…For The Better?

When people hear the phrase “History Repeats Itself” it’s always taken as a negative. But there are times, many times indeed, that history repeating itself is a good thing. This article idea was thought up entirely by a friend of mine and I’ve been blowing it off for a while because I never knew what to write, but then one day I thought about things in my life and how history repeating itself found a way to work out.

I knew a friend who had cancer. It was really hard because there’s not much you can say at a time like that. You can regurgitate the usual jargon like “Don’t worry” and “You’ll be fine”. At time like that optimism is great, but I find that actually numbers work out better. I told him how in the past few years, doctors found new ways to treat and combat cancer.  I jokingly brought up Polio, and I said “Can you name someone who has that?”.

That’s just 1 instance, but the point of it is that it worked. He felt better about his situation and fought on, and lived. Now obviously what I said didn’t save his life, but in a way it comforted him knowing that somewhere in the world a doctor was coming up with a way to save his life.

Technology is the biggest history repeater of them all. We are always inventing new things to make our lives easier and better. Cars, phones, computers, people are always making new things. As simplistic as it sounds, that’s a form of history repeating itself.

Something that happened to me recently, was a breakup. I was really hurt by the whole thing and didn’t know what to do. I have never been so destroyed by a girl before and I was scared, because I didn’t know how I was possibly going to move on from it.

I did in time. I saw other people; I talked about it with friends and realized I was wrong to ever be upset about her. I realized she wasn’t worth it at all. I always tell people the phrase, “Sometimes thing go bad” but on the reverse side of it “Things get better”. The whole point of it is that again “History repeats itself for the better”. Things go bad and things go good again.

We live in a world where things constantly go bad. We lose jobs and we find new ones. Friends come and go. It’s a constant cycle of this. We have ups and downs, but it’s never something to be discouraged about.

Even people down on their last dollar can find a way to bounce back. Nothing is impossible in this world. Things stand in our way and we find a way to push through. So when people say “History repeats itself” don’t think of it as a negative. Think of it as a way push through problems and come out a winner.

Joe Reyes

19 comments on “History Repeats Itself…For The Better?

  1. Great article! Thanks for sending me the link! Totally agree that history repeats so we can learn better more advanced ways of doing things. If there wasn’t a little bad with the good, we wouldn’t learn anything…It’s really about seeing opportunity in each situation despite it being bad! Thanks again~Shelley

    • joereyes3 says:

      thank you very much for reading and commenting. your comment makes alot of sense and kinda gave me another idea to write about so thanks again. keep on reading

  2. finhistomics says:

    Thanks for your comment, I appreciate it! You are right, history does have a way of repeating itself in a strange way. As Mark Twain once remarked: “History does not repeat itself, it rhymes.”
    And congratulations to your first post! I also started my blog finhistomics.com and its sub-blog finhistomicsquotes.wordpress.com recently and I must say it’s hard work! You seem to do well, however, looking at your likes. So keep up the good work and good luck!

    • joereyes3 says:

      thank you very much for your kind words and for reading my article. i will defiantly check your out. it is hard work starting a blog but what i found helpful is doing how i got all these views now, networking. reading other peoples works and they in turn read yours. i hope that helped. and good luck to you too. i hope you continue to read on my site to see if other articles coming up spark your interest.

  3. rw207 says:

    So true Jo…. the ebb and flow of our lives makes us sure that when times are tough, there will be a certain change in rhythm that brings things back into alignment. 🙂

    • joereyes3 says:

      exactly the point i was trying to convey across. thanks again fro reading and commenting. i hope you stop on by again to see what other articles spark your interest.

  4. Joe,

    I enjoyed the article and couldn’t agree more. Many repeats are well worth the waiting and are a Godsend.
    I also read your other blog (wellthatsdifferent) and found the movie reviews very helpful. I am looking forward to “Looper” when it comes out on video. Most the television and game reviews don’t mean much to me as I no longer watch any television and the last game I played was Return to Castle Wolfenstein.
    Best of luck to you in this new blog as well.

    Fenway

  5. cafeaulait13 says:

    Thank you for your reminder, and pragmatic advice on how to deal with cancer. I lost a family member to it, and it’s nice to get practical advice.

  6. nomadalphard says:

    Hey; Very simple and eloquent article – history has repeated itself throughout history! Wether it is via technology, illness, death, love, life – reborn etc. Please view my blog as it will show how history has repeated itself through war and all the realities of this world whic are hidden from us by the media etc… http://nomadalphard.wordpress.com/
    Keep bloggin!

  7. Nice article my friend. Well said.

  8. igudger says:

    I really like your positive ending. Positive thinking does so much for life in general. Thanks for bringing that out in your blog.

    • joereyes3 says:

      thanks for reading and for your comments. Yes, being positive is the best thing to do when things get bad. It doesn’t cure illnesses or save lives, but it’s a comfort that people sometimes loose hope for. Thanks again fro reading and i hope you do stop on by again.

Leave a Reply

